Page 1 of 1

ftp permissions

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 6:31 am
by Boss1315
Hi,
On my apache dedicated server, i had a forum for somebody on my cPanel account(cawunited) as a subdomain(cawunited.com/whatever). And, i made them a new domain hosting account via the WebHostManager. Then, i used ssh to copy the folder from cawunited.com to their domain. Now, whenever they go to change permissions or upload files to anywhere inside that folder, it doesnt work.. It either says Access Denied, or Bad File Descriptor. Does anyone know how i can fix this?

Thanks,
Boss

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 12:42 pm
by fuuucckkers
Well for one thing. a subdomain is 'name.domain.com' -- not 'name.com/name' -- could be the problem.

But then again, if it's access denied. It's probably just the folder/ file permissions on that specific directory.


Also, make sure you add the correct settings to the Virtual Directory section in your httpd.conf file.
And again, also.. make sure you also add a Directory section as well, to add permissions to access that area as well.

Code: Select all

<Directory /var/www/html/subdomain>
	AllowOverride All
	Options ExecCGI
	<IfModule mod_access.c>
	Order allow,deny
	Allow from all
	</IfModule>
</Directory>

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:34 pm
by BigHead
If this is a linux box make sure the folder and the files in it have the correct ownershipe

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:45 am
by fuuucckkers
BigHead wrote:If this is a linux box make sure the folder and the files in it have the correct ownershipe
Yes.... and you're just repeating what I already said.
It's probably just the folder/ file permissions on that specific directory.

:roll: :D

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 12:50 pm
by sweeney
I figured I'd post in this topic since it's semi-related to my problem. I have a folder on my server where I put pictures I like. How do I allow access to this folder directly, rather than making an index page which I would have to update every time I added a picture?

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 1:31 pm
by fuuucckkers
Well.. you didn't mention what OS, or what Server Software you have. I assume Windows and IIS.. but either Windows or Linux (with Apache).. it's all relatively the same.

For Linux and Apache... in your .htaccess file, or in the httpd.conf file ... you need to add "Options Indexes".

So it'll look like this.

Code: Select all

 
<Directory /path/to/files>
.........
.........
Options Indexes
</Directory>

And for Windows.. with IIS find an option to turn "Indexing" on. If it's Windows with Apache... you'll need to use change your httpd.conf file to add the option from the code above.

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 1:44 pm
by sweeney
Errr...sorry for the lack of details, but a friend of mine just lets me use some of his server, I'm not too sure of what it is.

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 6:42 pm
by BigHead
well since WHM/Cpanel doesn't run on windows it is linux :wink: you need to find out what ownership the files need to have and then do "chown -rf user:group /path/to/directory/" replacing user and group with the right stuff

EDIT: it is a responce to your first question not second