Home  |  Discuss  |  Donate  |  Contact  |  About 

outlook smtp

Hardware, Software, Internet, etc.

Moderators: Big-O Ryan, Big-O Mark, Matt, jester22c

outlook smtp

Postby Nathan » Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:02 pm

i am trying to set up a pop/smtp account on microsoft outlook 2003
the problem is it wont connect to the outgoing mail server. my brother said something like because of our router or dsl, i forget, we cannot send anymail only recieve with outlook. anyone know how i can fix this?
Bethany is cool

Plasma2002b wrote:ill open YOUR port.....!
User avatar
Nathan
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: CA

Postby Timelessblur » Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:11 pm

well general you have to put in the stmp accoutn and tell outlook where to go. I dont believe you router should be causing much of a problem. I can use outlook 1--% though out wireless router we have here at home though our DSL. it shoudl not be hard to look up the stmp account access.

also I had a problem like this when I first tryed using STMP access. A lot of htem require you to log in with a user name and password to do it (most of the time it the same as you download. Go in and make sure it doing that for you)
http://www.myimgs.com/data/timelessblur ... omulan.jpg
Yeah I know I got pulled in but its a nice way to kill time
my link for kings of Choas
User avatar
Timelessblur
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 9:06 pm

Postby Plasma2002b » Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:48 pm

open the right ports on your router
Image

its teh infamous life of brian gaut to teh max0r!
User avatar
Plasma2002b
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Riverside, Ca

Postby Jrrtt37 » Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:38 pm

i wouldn't even recommend outlook, doesn't it allow more crap on to your computer, Ex: virus, ads, blah.?
Signature:
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit

HTML is OFF
BBCode is ON
Smilies are ON
User avatar
Jrrtt37
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:30 am
Location: harwick,pa

Postby Nathan » Sun Jun 27, 2004 12:04 am

does it? this is my first time using it and i like how convient it is, i dont have to log in to yahoo or hotmail to check my mail, just set it up to start when my computer starts and EMAIL
Last edited by Nathan on Sun Jun 27, 2004 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bethany is cool

Plasma2002b wrote:ill open YOUR port.....!
User avatar
Nathan
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: CA

Postby Timelessblur » Sun Jun 27, 2004 1:31 am

well I knew for a while that only the premiem account from yahoo had pop3 access. I dont know if that change when it went to 100 megs. I alreayd had a paid account from them though sbc.

Right now I am looking at thunderbird and see how that is. All I can say is I really like outlook right now just for the convence of having ti downloaded onto my computer
http://www.myimgs.com/data/timelessblur ... omulan.jpg
Yeah I know I got pulled in but its a nice way to kill time
my link for kings of Choas
User avatar
Timelessblur
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 9:06 pm

Postby Nathan » Sun Jun 27, 2004 1:13 pm

yea, what was up with them going to 100 megs free, did they decide to go buy a ton of new servers or something?
seriously, hotmail has 2 megs, aol...what?
Bethany is cool

Plasma2002b wrote:ill open YOUR port.....!
User avatar
Nathan
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: CA

Postby Timelessblur » Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:03 pm

it a 100 meg inbox. That is nouthing compared to what my dad got. his account went from 25 megs to 2 gigs. all because his account it the primery account.

I guessing they add some but my account is on a diffent server than most. I basicly have all the stuff you get in yahoo plus with only a 100meg inbox. but then again we do pay money every month to them for our internet
http://www.myimgs.com/data/timelessblur ... omulan.jpg
Yeah I know I got pulled in but its a nice way to kill time
my link for kings of Choas
User avatar
Timelessblur
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 9:06 pm

Postby Robpol86 » Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:42 pm

um, u dont need to open ports when using the internet. only when hosting something................

put in the right smtp address your isp provided you with. a router/firewall with default settings WONT cause problems in this situation. usually your smtp address is something like, mail.isp.com or smtp.isp.com
User avatar
Robpol86
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:48 pm

Postby Nathan » Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:32 pm

yea, its the right smtp address cuz i used it at work, but it wont work here
Bethany is cool

Plasma2002b wrote:ill open YOUR port.....!
User avatar
Nathan
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: CA

Postby Robpol86 » Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:03 pm

u used it at work and now your trying to use it at home? so u have the same isp in both places? dont try using your work smtp address....
User avatar
Robpol86
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:48 pm

Postby Nathan » Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:01 am

my work has a server that uses vdeck and i have an account with it
Bethany is cool

Plasma2002b wrote:ill open YOUR port.....!
User avatar
Nathan
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: CA

Postby Plasma2002b » Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:12 am

open the ports yet?
Image

its teh infamous life of brian gaut to teh max0r!
User avatar
Plasma2002b
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Riverside, Ca

Postby Matt » Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:09 am

Some ISPs don't allow mail to be sent through any ISP but their own. I know if I'm not at home, I can't send my comcast mail (i.e. I'm at a friends house using Sprint DSL or Dial-Up). Maybe your work ISP doesn't allow you to send mail in that fashion.

I can, however, check all my comcast mail from any location regardless of the ISP. They have that block for smtp stuff so spam is cut back. It's gay in my opinion....but whatever.
-Matt
Timelessblur wrote:I only know 4 langueges. Engish, Band Engish, Really bad Engish and Timelessblurain
User avatar
Matt
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2002 11:23 am
Location: USA

Postby Robpol86 » Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:51 am

Plasma2002b wrote:open the ports yet?


u dont have to open the damn ports
User avatar
Robpol86
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:48 pm

Next

Return to Totally Off-Topic Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron