Home  |  Discuss  |  Donate  |  Contact  |  About 

Fonts

Hardware, Software, Internet, etc.

Moderators: Big-O Ryan, Big-O Mark, Matt, jester22c

Fonts

Postby sweeney » Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:22 am

Is there a way to show an uninstalled font on a webpage? Maybe link to the font file with a CSS script or something?
Axilla wrote:Since apparently no one has told you what a huge douche bag you are, I'll just tell you now. You are a huge douche bag. Huge.
User avatar
sweeney
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:24 pm
Location: Hamden, CT

Postby Plasma2002b » Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:14 am

good old fashioned GD! :)


basically, what you do is have your script (usually php) load the gd runtimes (must be installed on server) and make an image (jpg or png) and then send that image to the user's web browser.

The image made would be whatever you want with simply the text layed over it.... and you tell gd what font you want to use to make the text.


theres sooo much info about this stuff, but ill jsut stop here... cause maybe ya already know what im talkin about
Image

its teh infamous life of brian gaut to teh max0r!
User avatar
Plasma2002b
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Riverside, Ca

Postby sweeney » Fri Jul 02, 2004 10:04 pm

I don't know much about it. I've seen it in action, though, on a few sites. I'll google for it, if anyone's interested, I'll post some results here.
Axilla wrote:Since apparently no one has told you what a huge douche bag you are, I'll just tell you now. You are a huge douche bag. Huge.
User avatar
sweeney
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:24 pm
Location: Hamden, CT

Postby Michael » Mon Jul 05, 2004 3:42 pm

You can do it with CSS:
Code: Select all
<style>
@font-face {font-family: Times; src:url(Times.eot)}
</style>

(Just replace "Times" with the name of your font.)

However, this way of doing it is a bit finicky. It doesn't work in all browsers on all platforms, and the file must be in .eot format (you'll have to use a conversion program to convert it).
User avatar
Michael
Fanatic
Fanatic
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 8:20 am
Location: New York, USA

Postby Plasma2002b » Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:48 am

hmm.... well i just learned something new :)
Image

its teh infamous life of brian gaut to teh max0r!
User avatar
Plasma2002b
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Riverside, Ca

Postby Anthony » Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:53 am

A stupid GD script in action (my sig)
Image
PhaseDMA - Check it out
My AIM+ FAQ
User avatar
Anthony
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:10 am
Location: Rochester, New York

Postby Plasma2002b » Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:47 pm

which i still dont understand y you waste processor power on, since its always static........ :-?
Image

its teh infamous life of brian gaut to teh max0r!
User avatar
Plasma2002b
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Riverside, Ca

Postby Anthony » Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:30 pm

No it isn't...

"Microsoft has $56 billion in stockpiled"
"PhaseDMA.com"
"Avril Lavigne's 2nd CD debuted at #1"

Anyways - I think the server can spare a few cycles.
Image
PhaseDMA - Check it out
My AIM+ FAQ
User avatar
Anthony
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:10 am
Location: Rochester, New York

Postby Plasma2002b » Wed Jul 07, 2004 2:07 am

oh...... now i see it.



bah..... how............. boring
Image

its teh infamous life of brian gaut to teh max0r!
User avatar
Plasma2002b
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Riverside, Ca

Postby Robpol86 » Wed Jul 07, 2004 10:24 am

my lame fah pic i had in my sig had a better use.....
User avatar
Robpol86
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:48 pm


Return to Totally Off-Topic Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron