File compresion...

Request features that you'd like to see in future versions of AIM+.

Moderators: Big-O Ryan, Big-O Mark

Locked
User avatar
xteq113
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 8:36 pm
Location: Somerset. PA
Contact:

File compresion...

Post by xteq113 »

It would be pretty cool if you could have an option where when you direct connect to another person using Aim+ that you could like have Aim+ compress it. This would be exspecially useful if you send a lot of large image files. Or maybe put the ability to zip and unzip files within Aim+. Or perhaps come up with your own way of compresion all together. Like a .aim file which could be your compressed format.

:D [/code]
User avatar
nybbles
Addict
Addict
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:33 am
Location: University Park, PA
Contact:

Post by nybbles »

this might be cool.
ImmortalDragon
Banned
Banned
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 3:43 pm
Contact:

Post by ImmortalDragon »

most of the people i know have 56k and whenever i send a image it takes a hell of a long time
But time flows like a river...
And history repeats...

http://boards.sytes.net
^^MY BOARDS^^
User avatar
tone
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 10:51 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by tone »

yeah i have cable and so do alot of my friends but i mostly use email to send stuff back and forth and you could just zip yourself it only takes a few seconds
tone
User avatar
Master Jedi
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 10:34 pm
Contact:

Post by Master Jedi »

Thats a very interesting idea. It could definitely speed up file transfers.
iamvoyager
Addict
Addict
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 5:37 pm
Contact:

Post by iamvoyager »

both ppl would have to have the compression software (aim+)

ever heard of winzip? lol
User avatar
tone
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 10:51 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by tone »

thats what i was aying my post it takes 3 seconds to do it your self and it isnt hard at all
tone
User avatar
nybbles
Addict
Addict
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:33 am
Location: University Park, PA
Contact:

Post by nybbles »

ok, I agree WinZip isn't hard to use. But it would be cool if they could implement it so that you don't have to run it beforehand. It could kind of work like the WinZip plug-in for Outlook. It 's been very useful for me. http://www.winzip.com/betaout.cgi
Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests