Bug: Huge/Large Files and MD5 ( and SFV? )

Report problems you've encountered using hkSFV.

Moderators: Big-O Ryan, Big-O Mark

Post Reply
User avatar
bncrusher
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:23 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri USA
Contact:

Bug: Huge/Large Files and MD5 ( and SFV? )

Post by bncrusher »

OS: WinXP Pro SP2
Machine : P4-Prescott 3.0e Ghz (Hyperthreading ON)
Mem: 1gb

Ok.. My problem is as follows:

I am always trying to make MD5 files from rather large files. (Really the main point of making an MD5 if you ask me.. (Cd Burning verification etc)

I am getting exception errors about 2/3rds of the way thru an 825 MB file.
(haven't tried with SFV)

My work around:

turning off file caching completely (setting to 0)

If this bug has been addressed I do apologize.
If you need exception info let me know.. Wasn't sure if I should include it.
I will reproduce the error and get the info if you need it.. let me know.
Or has this error been addressed?

Brady S.
(bc)
User avatar
Axilla
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Post by Axilla »

It will be fixed in the next version of the software.
Michael wrote:In plain English: I am a boy.
For those AOL speakers out there: i ma b0i wat r u a/s/l ken i c ur b00bs?
User avatar
bncrusher
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:23 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri USA
Contact:

Post by bncrusher »

Axilla wrote:It will be fixed in the next version of the software.
Hey.. Thanks for the reply anyway. I do appreciate that someone noticed my bug so quickly. I am glad they are fixing it. Another thing I noticed is that when I put the cache to '0' I would then seemingly get a few 'run-away' processes. (CPU running at 50% (Which is 100% on a non-Hyperthreading PC I would assume.) ) I killed two of them.. and since I encoded twice when the cache was at 0 I figured that was the cause? Anyway thought I would point this out. (As I mentioned, It was the first time I ever notived HK ever doing that.. and of course this was the first time I had ever had the cache set to 0. But I haven't reproduced it.. so I dunno for sure. Is this a kno0wn bug, too?

Thanks again, though.

BTW:
Do the developers have any idea when the new vers is coming out?

b
User avatar
Robpol86
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:48 pm
Contact:

Post by Robpol86 »

he lied, the project has been abandoned apparently and the website/forum will dissapear within 3 months time
User avatar
bncrusher
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:23 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri USA
Contact:

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Post by bncrusher »

Robpol86 wrote:he lied, the project has been abandoned apparently and the website/forum will dissapear within 3 months time

ok. Now who to believe?
How did you deduce this?

bc
User avatar
Matt
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2002 11:23 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Matt »

Hi,

Welcome to the forums. Unfortunately, the developers of big-o-software have abandoned this forum and the software they developed to go on to making better things. They created this software whilst in college and since then have higher demanding jobs and can not devote time to AIM+ or hkSFV. If hkSFV isn't working for you, my only recommendation is to find another SFV checker. I'm not too familiar with others, as this product has worked sufficiently for me, but I'm sure a quick google search would point you in the right direction.

Additionally, if you are looking for a good forum for computer help, I suggest btvillarin.com.

If you would like more information, feel free to PM me.

Matt
-Matt
Timelessblur wrote:I only know 4 langueges. Engish, Band Engish, Really bad Engish and Timelessblurain
User avatar
bncrusher
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:23 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri USA
Contact:

Post by bncrusher »

Matt wrote:Hi,

Welcome to the forums. Unfortunately, the developers of big-o-software have abandoned this forum and the software they developed to go on to making better things. They created this software whilst in college and since then have higher demanding jobs and can not devote time to AIM+ or hkSFV. If hkSFV isn't working for you, my only recommendation is to find another SFV checker. I'm not too familiar with others, as this product has worked sufficiently for me, but I'm sure a quick google search would point you in the right direction.

Additionally, if you are looking for a good forum for computer help, I suggest btvillarin.com.

If you would like more information, feel free to PM me.

Matt
Just was trying to help out.. Oh well

I sent you a PM btw.

And no.. Unfortunately there are no other decent checker/makers out there.. free or otherwise that I know of.. Which is exactly why I ended up here.

bc
User avatar
Jrrtt37
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:30 am
Location: harwick,pa
Contact:

Post by Jrrtt37 »

who would of thought st. louis Missouri was in USA.
Last edited by Jrrtt37 on Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Signature:
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit

HTML is OFF
BBCode is ON
Smilies are ON
User avatar
Nathan
Extreme Groupie
Extreme Groupie
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: CA
Contact:

Post by Nathan »

WHAT!?!?!?!?!! IT IS!??!?!?!...
omg that cheep whore lied to me!
Bethany is cool

Plasma2002b wrote:ill open YOUR port.....!
Mike V.

Re: Bug: Huge/Large Files and MD5 ( and SFV? )

Post by Mike V. »

bncrusher wrote: I am always trying to make MD5 files from rather large files. (Really the main point of making an MD5 if you ask me.. (Cd Burning verification etc)

I am getting exception errors about 2/3rds of the way thru an 825 MB file.
(haven't tried with SFV)
(bc)
This one MD5 checker works on the files more than 4Gb!
User avatar
Anthony
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1532
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:10 am
Location: Rochester, New York
Contact:

Post by Anthony »

Dude that's a lot of zipped porn.

I highly suggest you take step away from the computer. Then grab a baseball bat and hit the computer tower over and over until it turns off.

I assure you this will help a lot with your social life.
Image
PhaseDMA - Check it out
My AIM+ FAQ
User avatar
Robpol86
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 11:48 pm
Contact:

Post by Robpol86 »

is it any good?
User avatar
Anthony
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1532
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:10 am
Location: Rochester, New York
Contact:

Post by Anthony »

He has 4 GBs of it.

And you think it even has a chance of being good?

Maybe you should be hitting your computer with a baseball bat too.
Image
PhaseDMA - Check it out
My AIM+ FAQ
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests